Starbucks Gets Interactive

Starbucks has been cheering about its ability to create 50,000 drink combinations for a while. I went to the Web site today to check the balance on a gift card and saw this fun little game that lets you tell the world about “your drink.” If you login at 10 a.m. PST there are a limited number of free t-shirts that Starbucks is giving away created by designer Mychael Knight (a Project Runway contestant, season 3). If you don’t get a T, you can still download desktop wallpaper (which I didn’t do…) or take a screenshot to put on your blog (which I did…).

A Web site can no longer function well if it’s just a “brochure on steroids.” Companies of all sizes have to look for ways to provide fresh content (try blogging, providing articles, updating your newsroom) and increase interactivity (case in point: Starbucks). People must have a reason to come back.

What are some of your favorite sites that follow this new model?

One thought on “Starbucks Gets Interactive

  1. Hi Kelli,
    This is funny! Is the event still going on? I might try it tomorrow morning.
    For the online interactivity with customers, I know there are some companies developing very funny online activities for customers, for example, quiz or online games. For instance, Ben& Jerry’s created an extremely fun site for people to play around on its website (http://www.benjerry.com/fun_stuff/index.cfm). A variety of fun stuff is waiting there for people to explore!! I think this strategy is very appealing to children and teenagers.

    Sorry for commenting on your blog so late as I was just startled from my sleep and realized I have not made my comments and have not send you my blog. En, it’s very quiet in such a midnight and feel so good!

Leave a comment